Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities

  • Authors: Aric Zion, MS;
  • Peter Juergens, MA;
  • Thomas Hollmann, MBA, PhD

INTRODUCTION

Zion & Zion’s annual survey to rank Americans’ brand awareness of the 100 largest U.S. charities reveals that many of the largest and oldest charities have significant top-of-mind brand awareness by a broad cross section of consumers. This year’s survey had 1,053 respondents.

Some of the charities with high brand recognition are predictable due to factors such as public visibility, longevity, advertising, etc. We expected that most people would be familiar with such charities as St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (#1), the Salvation Army (#2), and Boys & Girls Club of America (#3). But longevity alone is no guarantee of strong brand awareness; Easterseals, for example, which was founded in 1919 to assist people with disabilities, ranked 35th in overall brand awareness. The data also reveals surprising differences in brand awareness by gender, age, and income levels. While the primary data from our study is found below, links to related Zion & Zion studies can be found at Millennials vs. Non: The Generational Divide in Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities; High Income Consumers’ Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities; The Gender Gap in Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities.

Additional analysis charts below

Please scroll to view all data columns.

Charity Name
Brand Awareness Rank
Brand Awareness
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital st-jude 1 91%
Salvation Army salvation 2 88%
Boys & Girls Club of America clubs 3 87%
American Heart Association heart 4 85%
YMCA of the USA ymca 4 85%
American Cancer Society american-cancer 6 84%
Goodwill Industries International oodwill 7 81%
Make-A-Wish Foundation of America make-a-wish 8 80%
American National Red Cross red-cross 9 80%
Habitat for Humanity International habitat 10 78%
Boy Scouts of America boy-scouts 11 77%
Wounded Warrior Project wounded-warrior 12 75%
March of Dimes Foundation march 13 75%
World Wildlife Fund wwf 14 75%
American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) aspca 15 72%
Doctors Without Borders USA doctors-without 15 72%
Planned Parenthood Federation of America lanned-parenthood 17 71%
Mayo Clinic mayo 18 70%
Susan G. Komen for the Cure susan-g-komen 19 68%
Humane Society of the United States humane-society 20 68%
Shriners Hospitals for Children shriners 21 66%
United States Fund for UNICEF unicef 22 66%
United Way Worldwide united-way 23 65%
Alzheimer’s Association alzheimers 24 63%
Smithsonian Institution smithsonian 25 60%
Marine Toys for Tots Foundation marine-toys 26 60%
Disabled American Veterans disabled-american 27 59%
Public Broadcasting Service bs 28 58%
Feed the Children feed-the-children 29 57%
Metropolitan Museum of Arts metropolitan-museum 30 56%
Save the Children Federation save-the-children 31 53%
Catholic Charities USA catholic-charities 32 53%
American Civil Liberties Union and Foundation aclu 33 51%
Easterseals easterseals 34 50%
Museum of Modern Art museum-of-modern 35 50%
Catholic Relief Services catholic-relief 36 50%
Bill, Hillary and Chelsea Clinton Foundation clinton 37 43%
Rotary Foundation of Rotary International rotary 38 42%
National Multiple Sclerosis Society national-multiple-sclerosis 39 41%
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society leukemia 40 40%
Volunteers of America volunteers 41 39%
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) uvenile-diabetes 42 38%
Feeding America feeding-america 43 36%
American Kidney Fund american-kidney 44 36%
Nature Conservancy nature-conservancy 45 35%
Environmental Defense Fund environmental-defense 45 35%
Paralyzed Veterans of America aralyzed-veterans 47 34%
CARE USA care 47 34%
Junior Achievement USA unior-achievement 49 34%
Christian Broadcasting Network cbn 50 31%
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center memorial-sloan 51 31%
Teach for America teach-for-america 52 30%
Mount Sinai Health Systems mount-sinai 53 29%
World Vision world-vision 54 28%
Lutheran Services in America lutheran 55 28%
Children International children-international 56 25%
Helen Keller International helen-keller 57 23%
Smile Train smile-train 58 21%
United Service Organizations united-service 59 21%
New York-Presbyterian Hospital new-york-presbyterian 60 19%
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute dana-farber 61 18%
Food for the Poor food-for-the-poor 62 18%
Samaritan’s Purse samaritans 63 17%
The Arc the-arc 64 16%
Young Life young-life 65 16%
ChildFund International childfund 66 15%
Carter Center carter 67 15%
Compassion International compassion 68 13%
Scholarship America scholarshi 69 13%
Americares Foundation americares 70 12%
Midwest Food Bank midwest-food 71 12%
UJA/Federation of New York uja 72 11%
Wycliffe Bible Translators wycliffe 73 10%
Step Up for Students step-u 74 9%
PATH ath 75 9%
Task Force for Global Health task-force 76 9%
Museum of the Bible museum-of-the-bible 77 8%
Houston Food Bank houston 77 8%
International Rescue Committee international-rescue 79 8%
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee american-jewish 80 8%
Direct Relief direct-relief 81 8%
Cross International cross 82 6%
Cru cru 83 6%
Detroit Institute of Arts detroit 83 6%
Catholic Medical Mission Board catholic-medical 83 6%
Operation Blessing International Relief & Development operation 86 6%
Brother’s Brother Foundation brothers 87 6%
Mathew 25: Ministries matthew 87 6%
Healthwell Foundation healthwell 89 6%
Patient Access Network Foundation atient-access 90 5%
Educational Media Foundation educational-media 90 5%
Good 360 ood-360 92 5%
Delivering Good deliverin 92 5%
Entertainment Industry Foundation entertainment 94 5%
CBM (Christian Blind Mission) cbm 95 4%
Project Orbis International roject-orbis 96 4%
Population Services International opulation 97 4%
Peabody Essex Museum eabody 98 3%
Conservation International Foundation conservation 99 3%
MAP International ma 100 2%