The Gender Gap in Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities

  • Authors: Aric Zion, MS;
  • Peter Juergens, MA;
  • Thomas Hollmann, MBA, PhD

INTRODUCTION

Many charities have an inherent gender difference in brand awareness. In order to provide perspective on how the largest 100 U.S. charities perform with respect to differences in brand awareness by gender, Zion & Zion’s research team analyzed the data from 1,053 respondents to our annual survey to rank American’s brand awareness of the 100 largest U.S. charities. Note that the original analysis from our study can be found in this report: Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities, and related studies can be found at Millennials vs. Non: The Generational Divide in Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities, and High Income Consumers’ Brand Awareness Rankings of the 100 Largest U.S. Charities.

Additional analysis charts below

Please scroll to view all data columns.

Charity Name
Brand Awareness Rank
Brand Awareness
Female Brand Awareness
Male Brand Awareness
Gender Brand Awareness Differential
Favored Gender
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital st-jude 1 91% 91% 92% 1% Male
Salvation Army salvation 2 88% 88% 88% 1% Male
Boys & Girls Club of America clubs 3 87% 91% 82% 9% Female
American Heart Association heart 4 85% 87% 83% 4% Female
YMCA of the USA ymca 4 85% 84% 86% 2% Male
American Cancer Society american-cancer 6 84% 80% 88% 8% Male
Goodwill Industries International oodwill 7 81% 79% 83% 4% Male
Make-A-Wish Foundation of America make-a-wish 8 80% 82% 78% 5% Female
American National Red Cross red-cross 9 80% 78% 82% 5% Male
Habitat for Humanity International habitat 10 78% 77% 79% 2% Male
Boy Scouts of America boy-scouts 11 77% 75% 80% 5% Male
Wounded Warrior Project wounded-warrior 12 75% 80% 70% 11% Female
March of Dimes Foundation march 13 75% 81% 68% 14% Female
World Wildlife Fund wwf 14 75% 77% 71% 6% Female
American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) aspca 15 72% 69% 76% 7% Male
Doctors Without Borders USA doctors-without 15 72% 66% 79% 13% Male
Planned Parenthood Federation of America lanned-parenthood 17 71% 71% 71% 0% Equal
Mayo Clinic mayo 18 70% 69% 70% 1% Male
Susan G. Komen for the Cure susan-g-komen 19 68% 73% 63% 11% Female
Humane Society of the United States humane-society 20 68% 69% 68% 1% Female
Shriners Hospitals for Children shriners 21 66% 65% 67% 2% Male
United States Fund for UNICEF unicef 22 66% 69% 63% 6% Female
United Way Worldwide united-way 23 65% 67% 62% 5% Female
Alzheimer's Association alzheimers 24 63% 66% 60% 5% Female
Smithsonian Institution smithsonian 25 60% 56% 66% 10% Male
Marine Toys for Tots Foundation marine-toys 26 60% 62% 58% 3% Female
Disabled American Veterans disabled-american 27 59% 55% 64% 9% Male
Public Broadcasting Service bs 28 58% 61% 55% 6% Female
Feed the Children feed-the-children 29 57% 64% 49% 15% Female
Metropolitan Museum of Arts metropolitan-museum 30 56% 57% 54% 2% Female
Save the Children Federation save-the-children 31 53% 61% 45% 16% Female
Catholic Charities USA catholic-charities 32 53% 52% 53% 1% Male
American Civil Liberties Union and Foundation aclu 33 51% 43% 61% 19% Male
Easterseals easterseals 34 50% 49% 52% 3% Male
Museum of Modern Art museum-of-modern 35 50% 54% 45% 9% Female
Catholic Relief Services catholic-relief 36 50% 45% 55% 10% Male
Bill, Hillary and Chelsea Clinton Foundation clinton 37 43% 35% 53% 18% Male
Rotary Foundation of Rotary International rotary 38 42% 38% 46% 8% Male
National Multiple Sclerosis Society national-multiple-sclerosis 39 41% 44% 39% 5% Female
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society leukemia 40 40% 39% 41% 3% Male
Volunteers of America volunteers 41 39% 44% 34% 10% Female
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) uvenile-diabetes 42 38% 43% 31% 12% Female
Feeding America feeding-america 43 36% 40% 30% 10% Female
American Kidney Fund american-kidney 44 36% 34% 38% 4% Male
Nature Conservancy nature-conservancy 45 35% 33% 36% 3% Male
Environmental Defense Fund environmental-defense 45 35% 32% 38% 5% Male
Paralyzed Veterans of America aralyzed-veterans 47 34% 39% 28% 11% Female
CARE USA care 47 34% 34% 33% 1% Female
Junior Achievement USA unior-achievement 49 34% 31% 37% 7% Male
Christian Broadcasting Network cbn 50 31% 33% 30% 3% Female
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center memorial-sloan 51 31% 29% 33% 5% Male
Teach for America teach-for-america 52 30% 32% 28% 4% Female
Mount Sinai Health Systems mount-sinai 53 29% 32% 26% 7% Female
World Vision world-vision 54 28% 32% 24% 8% Female
Lutheran Services in America lutheran 55 28% 29% 28% 0% Equal
Children International children-international 56 25% 22% 28% 6% Male
Helen Keller International helen-keller 57 23% 25% 21% 4% Female
Smile Train smile-train 58 21% 25% 17% 8% Female
United Service Organizations united-service 59 21% 22% 19% 4% Female
New York-Presbyterian Hospital new-york-presbyterian 60 19% 19% 20% 1% Male
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute dana-farber 61 18% 18% 17% 1% Female
Food for the Poor food-for-the-poor 62 18% 18% 18% 1% Male
Samaritan's Purse samaritans 63 17% 20% 14% 6% Female
The Arc the-arc 64 16% 19% 13% 7% Female
Young Life young-life 65 16% 12% 20% 8% Male
ChildFund International childfund 66 15% 17% 14% 3% Female
Carter Center carter 67 15% 15% 15% 1% Female
Compassion International compassion 68 13% 11% 15% 3% Male
Scholarship America scholarshi 69 13% 11% 14% 2% Male
Americares Foundation americares 70 12% 14% 10% 3% Female
Midwest Food Bank midwest-food 71 12% 11% 12% 0% Equal
UJA/Federation of New York uja 72 11% 9% 13% 4% Male
Wycliffe Bible Translators wycliffe 73 10% 13% 6% 7% Female
Step Up for Students step-u 74 9% 8% 10% 2% Male
PATH ath 75 9% 13% 4% 9% Female
Task Force for Global Health task-force 76 9% 9% 8% 1% Female
Museum of the Bible museum-of-the-bible 77 8% 11% 5% 6% Female
Houston Food Bank houston 77 8% 6% 10% 4% Male
International Rescue Committee international-rescue 79 8% 8% 9% 1% Male
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee american-jewish 80 8% 7% 8% 1% Male
Direct Relief direct-relief 81 8% 10% 5% 5% Female
Cross International cross 82 6% 7% 5% 2% Female
Cru cru 83 6% 7% 5% 2% Female
Detroit Institute of Arts detroit 83 6% 4% 9% 4% Male
Catholic Medical Mission Board catholic-medical 83 6% 3% 11% 8% Male
Operation Blessing International Relief & Development operation 86 6% 7% 5% 1% Female
Brother's Brother Foundation brothers 87 6% 9% 2% 7% Female
Mathew 25: Ministries matthew 87 6% 6% 5% 1% Female
Healthwell Foundation healthwell 89 6% 5% 6% 1% Male
Patient Access Network Foundation atient-access 90 5% 4% 6% 2% Male
Educational Media Foundation educational-media 90 5% 2% 9% 6% Male
Good 360 ood-360 92 5% 5% 5% 1% Male
Delivering Good deliverin 92 5% 3% 7% 5% Male
Entertainment Industry Foundation entertainment 94 5% 2% 7% 5% Male
CBM (Christian Blind Mission) cbm 95 4% 4% 4% 0% Equal
Project Orbis International roject-orbis 96 4% 3% 5% 3% Male
Population Services International opulation 97 4% 4% 3% 1% Female
Peabody Essex Museum eabody 98 3% 3% 4% 1% Male
Conservation International Foundation conservation 99 3% 3% 3% 1% Male
MAP International ma 100 2% 4% 1% 3% Female

GENDER DISPARITIES

Female and male consumers are in strong agreement when it comes to many top ten charities of which they have the highest brand awareness, but there are differences in their respective brand awareness among many well-known charities. Females edge out males for brand awareness of charities such as Save the Children (16% differential), Feed the Children (15%), and March of Dimes (14%)—see Figure 3. Males hold meaningful brand awareness leadership differentials with a number of charities as well: American Civil Liberties Union and Foundation (19%), Bill, Hillary and Chelsea Clinton Foundation (18%), and Doctors Without Borders (13%)—see Figure 4.

PUTTING THE DATA TO WORK

It is clear from the data that not all charities experience disparity with respect to differences in brand awareness by gender. However, some clearly do. It is our hope that by highlighting the differences in gender-related brand awareness where differences exist, we bring some market clarity to the situation, thereby enabling charities to take action where appropriate. In particular, while we do believe that each charity may indeed know the composition of its own donor base, the data provided here will highlight gender differences with respect to brand awareness, and not simply with respect to donors.